Asbury Staff: From Spencer

Our summer staff work Sunday-Friday each week pouring into campers.  Does that sound like a lot? It sure is.  Our staffers work each day to make sure our campers feel valued, loved and cherished.  What else do our staffers do each day? They become a better version of themselves.  They build new, lifelong relationships.  Our staff build community with people who love and cherish them just as they do for their campers.

Spencer served Asbury Hills as a counselor for Summer 2017.  Here is her viewpoint on serving on summer staff at Asbury Hills. 

paigeraileyspencer-0353.jpg

“I spent 3 1/2 months at one of my most favorite places on Earth, Asbury Hills. If you would have told me in December last year that I would be a counselor for the summer, I would have laughed and said yeah right. I went to Asbury Hills as a camper, and spent plenty of summers exploring this beautiful place. But, the thought had never really crossed my mind that maybe one day I would work there.

I’m pretty sure most

kids dream of being like their

counselor.  I know I did.

Around December, a friend of mine was talking about how she had worked at Asbury the previous summer. Memories of being a camper flashed through my mind, but I still wasn’t convinced I wanted to be a counselor for the summer.

Fast forward a few weeks. Yes, I said weeks. Literally THE day I had talked to my friend about her time at Asbury, I couldn’t get camp off of my mind. I don’t remember exactly what happened after that, but I did eventually apply to work at Asbury for the summer.

God always places things in our lives at exactly the right time.

I had previous plans to spend most of my summer in Haiti. The Lord had other plans, and those plans were so much greater than mine.  To say I was disappointed that I would not be returning to Haiti for the summer was an understatement. Little did I know that what the Lord had in store for me was better than I could have ever imagined.

I could honestly probably write a book about my summer at Asbury.  I experienced so much that I can’t even figure out what I want to say as I’m writing this.

Going into the summer, I didn’t realize how much I needed to be away from the realities of this crazy world we live in. During finals week, I remember being so overwhelmed that I left campus and drove to Pretty Place chapel. I sat in silence for probably 2 hours because I was so overwhelmed by all the noise in my life, and I needed an escape. Little did I know that the theme for the summer at camp would be noise and how we can break away from those everyday distractions in order to hear God.

I rediscovered myself this summer. I rediscovered God in the silence and in the small moments that we often miss.

I grew in my faith and in my relationship with Christ, I made friendships that will last forever, and I discovered a new home. Working at camp this summer was such a blessing. The Lord shaped and molded me in ways I didn’t expect, and I’ve become a better version of myself.

Asbury Hills, you rocked

my entire world.

My challenge to everyone reading is that you take time to sit in the silence and listen. Listen to the sounds around you. Listen to God. Remove the distractions in your life for 10 minutes and just be.

Be STILL.

Love always,  Spencer”

spencer

Applications are now open for Summer 2018 Staff Positions.

Click here for more information.

Categories: Retreats | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

